Remuneration Tribunal

Remuneration Tribunal

The Cook Islands Remuneration Tribunal (“the Tribunal”) is constituted under the Remuneration Tribunal Act 2005.The Remuneration Tribunal has the equivalent powers of a Parliamentary Select Committee.

Section 13 of the Remuneration Tribunal Act 2005 provides the authority for the Tribunal to:

(a) consider and determine the salaries and allowances required to be fixed by the Act as set out in Schedules of the Act;

(b) carry out such other functions as may be conferred or imposed on it by the Act or any other Act.

In carrying out its functions under section 13 (1) (a) of the Act, the Tribunal may fix scales of salaries and scales of allowances or ranges of rates of remuneration or alternative forms of remuneration within a remuneration package for any position, and may prescribe rules governing the application of any such scales of salaries or allowances, or ranges of rates of remuneration, or alternative forms of remuneration within a remuneration package fixed by it.

Except as provided in the Act, where the remuneration due to any person is fixed under the Act, no amount in excess of the remuneration so fixed for the time being shall be granted to any person on account of that remuneration.

The Tribunal consists of three members, appointed by the Queen’s Representative by Order in Executive Council for a term of 3 years, with one member being appointed as Chairman. 

Chairman: Mr Fletcher Melvin
Member: Mr Antony Will
Member: Mrs Makiroa Mitchell-John.